On January 1, 1955, Improvement District No. 41, part of Improvement District No. 42, part of the Municipal Districts of Bow Valley No. 40, Serviceberry No. 43, and Kneehill No. 48, were merged into one new municipal district to be known as the Municipal District of Wheatland No. 40 for the first time.
The Municipal District of Wheatland No. 40 and the Wheatland School Division No. 40 joined together on January 1, 1961, and became known as the County of Wheatland No. 16.
On March 6, 1996, the name was changed from the County of Wheatland No. 16 to the name currently used, Wheatland County.
The formation of the Municipal District of Wheatland No. 40 document from 1954 can be viewed on the Municipal Affairs website.
The communities within Wheatland County have a long and proud agricultural history and there are many century farms still in operation.
"Gleichen has a vibrant history stretching back to before the founding of our Province, numerous famous and infamous individuals have called Gleichen there home at some point throughout their lives." (The Gleichen Call)
"The name Lyalta came from a compound of Lyall and Alberta, suggested by Mr. A. Harry Parsons of Lyall Trading Company. It appears there already was a town by the name of "Lyall" in Alberta. Lyall, a map shows, was surveyed as a future townsite to include a bank and stores." (From Along the Fireguard Trail: A History of Lyalta-Ardenode-Dalroy Districts by Lyalta, Ardenode, Dalroy Historical Society © 1979)
A story of Cluny and the surrounding districts : Cluny, Ouelletteville, Crowfoot Creek, Blackfoot Reserve in Alberta Canada.
A story of Namaka and surrounding districts : Blackfoot West End, Cairnhill East Side, Crowfoot, Elwood, Hammer Hill, Harwood, Namaka, Namaka Farm, Orange Valley East Side in Alberta, Canada.